Senza categoria

Interview with Elmira, English Language Tutor from Armenia

 

Why did you choose this program?

After a long and thorough research of possible summer opportunities, finding Joinki was a real success. I chose Joinki because it was a great chance to live a true Italian life in the beautiful region of Trentino and at the same time give something back to the community. All the help that the Joinki team provides to its applicants even before being chosen showed how reliable and great this program was.

What did your program provider assist you with, and what did you have to organize on your own?

First things first: the Joinki has stated very clearly what is it going to assist me with and what am I supposed to organize. This was something that I appreciated a lot because being clear on such topics makes everyone’s lives easier.

Joinki has organized most of the things within the frames of the program and has left me with minor things to worry about. Another thing that I have appreciated a lot about Joinki was the pieces of advice that I could get from the team anytime about questions of all kinds.

What is one piece of advice you’d give to someone going on your program?

  1. Learn life lessons from Italians – especially when it comes to enjoying life to its fullest.
  2. Make sure you get the best out of your time in Italy as it is all in your hands.
  3. Bear in mind that time is not infinite and you will not even realize how fast time is flying.
  4. Eat as much gelato (aka ice cream) as you can – it is heavenly!

What does an average day/week look like as a participant of this program?

The average day/week of a participant of Joinki program may vary from tutor to tutor due to the placing situation. In my case, I lived with a beautiful host family of four (mother, father, son and daughter), where I was supposed to tutor kids who were five and seven years old at the time. During the weekdays, my host family was gone for work, and I used this time to study Italian, travel around and hang out with other tutors who lived near me. In the evenings, I joined the host mother and we went for a walk with the kids and practiced speaking in English. Some other times we would arrange actual classes when I was teaching English.

The evenings were one of my favorite times of the day, as the whole family was getting together, we were having delicious Italian food (prepared by the super talented cook – host mother) and talking about different topics.

I was very lucky with my host family as they were very active and positive people. They were very open and always happy to share their beautiful culture and country with me. During the weekends, they arranged road trips around the region and showed me the breathtaking Italian sites. We have gone on hikes, visited beautiful lakes, went to the nearby cities and did all kinds of different activities.

In other words, my days/weeks were very diverse and active during all six weeks, which made my experience even more unforgettable.

Going into your experience abroad, what was your biggest fear, and how did you overcome it? How did your views on the issue change?
My biggest fear at the beginning was that I would not be able to absorb the culture well enough as I did not know Italian. However, I was fortunate that Joinki program provided me with free Italian tutoring lessons, which helped me a lot throughout the experience and made me fall in love with that beautiful language.

Should the Reader apply for Joinki?
If you are a person who is interested in the Italian culture and wants to have the time of his/her life, you should apply for the Joinki program without any doubts. It is a beautiful opportunity for you to get out of your comfort zone, learn, explore and have a wonderful time.

Discover more on : https://www.gooverseas.com/interview/alumni/235847

It has been 3 months since I left Italy and I can’t believe time has passed so fast. There is no day or night that I don’t think about the amazing experience I lived there, because it definitely changed my life, made me a better person, and gave me so many memories that will always be in my heart! There is no day that I don’t think about going back to Trentino, there is a famous quote that states “People always go back to those places where they loved life”. I loved my life during my time in Italy; every single day was full of happiness, new knowledge and laughs; and that is why I am sure I will go back there soon or later. I am always in touch with my Italian family, and you cannot imagine how much I miss them, I can’t wait to see them and hug them again! Being a JOINKI TUTOR, has been by far the most incredible experience I’ve had in my life! Thank you JOINKI, Thank you Italy, Thank you Sabrina, Paola, Andrea, and Mafalda!

 

(Catalina – Colombia)

Abbiamo ospitato Daria, attraverso il progetto Joinki per due mesi per la lingua inglese. Per noi è stata una bellissima esperienza. Daria ha saputo dosare la propria presenza al punto giusto. Tutta la famiglia è stata coinvolta, con percorsi diversificati per ciascuno di noi. È nata con Daria un’amicizia. Joinki ha saputo connetterci con la persona giusta.

(Michele e Monica)

For many years now I’ve been fond of diving, an activity that unfortunately doesn’t exist in Trentino. Nevertheless, from my very first week in Italy, I realized that I was going to experience a different kind of submersion, having Joinki by my side as a diving school. Carrying out this volunteering project, I saw myself diving into Italian culture, traditions, social life, history and last but not least – its moreish cuisine! Joinki project turned out to be exactly what I was looking for – a meaningful, inspiring, self-developing and fun volunteering experience. My main responsibility was to teach English to my host family and different students from schools in Val di Non. I will never forget the innocent smiles of my primary school students and their never-ceasing questions. (more…)

During my time I experienced countless unforgettable adventures and challenges. The most memorable include my Italian lessons with Roberto (Bob) and Sabrina, volunteering at the local children’s school, and traveling the Trentino region and beyond.

During my time with Joinki, I was provided with hour and a half long Italian lessons twice a week. I did written exercises, verbal exercises, and reading comprehension. These lessons greatly expanded my knowledge of the Italian language and allowed me to better communicate with and understand Italians.

(more…)

Before discovering Joinki, I was at a turning point in my life. With a university degree in my hand and two years of work experience, I was looking for a change, for a chance to experience another way of life, and to find something more fulfilling. I had spent a summer travelling and knew that Italy held a culture that was utterly fascinating, and perhaps time spent immersed in Italian life was exactly what I was looking for. After spending some time researching I decided to try Au Pairing, but after 6 weeks living with a family, I discovered the work I was doing wasn’t the right fit for me.

(more…)